KUSF In Exile 05.06.12 8-10 AM Whiskey Before Breakfast DJ Richard White

A two hour set of Folk, Acoustic, Flat Picking, Traditional, Bluegrass, Contemporary, and everything else related with waking up in a relaxed way to get the Sunday started off. Originally a radio show that was on WKSU, with Kerry Blech in the 70's, which led to the Folk Alley that we hear now.

iPhone and iPad Player

This show goes out to my home away from home, Portland, Oregon. I was
up there this last week as my Whiskey Before Breakfast show for April
22 as well as my 360 Sound Show for April 25 were being broadcast.
Consequently, I was not there for KUSF's 35th Birthday. In this
episode of The 360 Sound Show, you will hear excerpts of four new
albums from PDX artists as well as music from quite a few comps over
the last few years. The only exception to the rule here is that to
kick of this show, I include several tracks from a Boise, Idaho band,
Finn Riggins' brand new EP. I saw this band at Holocene up in PDX
during this latest stay. Enjoy!

Finn Riggins, with tracks from Benchwarmers, on Tender Loving Empire:

"Big News"

Y La Bamba, with tracks from Court The Storm, also on TLE:

"Moral Panic"
"Como Ratones"
"Viuda Encabronada"
"Ponce Pilato"
"Court The Storm"

Portland Cello Project, with tracks from Homage, from Jealous Butcher:

"She Will"
"Canon On A Lillipopalicious Theme"
"All Of The Lights"
"Lua Descolorida"

From Friends And Friends Of Friends, Vol. 3 (2010):

Boy Eats Drum Machine "Lolo Forest"
Brainstorm "Split The Lark"
And And And "You Can't Hide"
Typhoon "White Liars"

From Friends And Friends Of Friends, Vol. 4 (2011):

Mnemonic Sounds "Keeping It Quiet"
Light For Fire "(NY) By The Hand"
Alamedas "Silver Hands"
The Ascetic Junkies "Thought Thief"

Much of the next two sets was taken from the A Compilation Of Portland
Music series, a four-volume set which was released from 2004 to 2007.
The number given is the volume number from which each song was taken.

The Bella Fayes "Far From The Disco" (1)
Invisible "Verdict Swings" (1)
The Sun The Sea "Even Happier" (4)
Here Comes A Big Black Cloud! "Southern Suite" (4)
Durango Park "For Tomorrow" (2)
The Moneychangers "Dice Of Fortune" (2006) *(Not on ACOPM comps.)

Crock "Where We Get Off" (2011) *
Tic Code "Skeletons" (3)
Wooden Nickle "Patriot Blues" (2)
Voodoo Economics "Time To Drive" (2)
Jef Brown "Devotion" (1)
Tears Run Rings "Distance" (2010) *
Laura Gibson & Ethan Rose "Younger" (2010) *

Mirrorring (feat. Grouper, from PDX, and Tiny Vipers, from Seattle),
with tracks from Foreign Body, on Kranky:

"Drowning The Call"
"Mirror Of Our Sleeping"

No comments: